Twitter for Teachers: A Basic Guide

I’m teaching a workshop next week for educators on the basics of Twitter. I’ve put together a guide to help teachers learn the basics of how to set up and use a Twitter account.

The guide is still in draft format, but if you’d like a sneak preview, I’d love your feedback:

View this document on Scribd

_____________

Share or Tweet this post: Twitter for Teachers: A Basic Guide http://wp.me/pNAh3-1aD

Update – January 2018 – This blog has had over 1.8 million views thanks to readers like you. If you enjoyed this post, please “like” it or share it on social media. Thanks!

Sarah Elaine Eaton is a faculty member in the Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary, Canada.

2 Responses to Twitter for Teachers: A Basic Guide

  1. Really informative, thank you. I’m a twitter using teacher and find it the best tool for professional development. For educators, apart form connecting with other like minded professionals, twitter is great for attending conferences using # and participating in “chats” such as “edchat”. I also use lists to group people that I don’t follow, e.g grouping many maths teachers together to see what conversations are happening. It’s a bit like using # but instead you know who is in the list. If someone is interesting then follow. There are so many ways to use twitter in your teaching practice.

    • Thanks so much for the comment, Penny. I agree with you, there are so many ways to use Twitter in your teaching practice. I LOVE your idea of using lists to group people that you don’t follow. Thanks a million for sharing that.