Sarah’s Thoughts: Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity

The release of ChatGPT has everyone abuzz about artificial intelligence. I’ve been getting lots of questions about our research project Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity: The Ethics of Teaching and Learning with Algorithmic Writing Technologies. We are ready to start data collection in January so I do not yet have results to share. Our team has two preliminary papers under review, but I won’t say much about them until they are published.

In the meantime, I wanted to share some high level thoughts on the topic since many of you have been asking. Even though I am on Research and Scholarship Leave (RSL, a.k.a. sabbatical) this year, I’ve got another big project on the go that is taking up a lot of my time and focus right now, in addition to the research project above. I am serving as the Editor-in-Chief of the the Handbook of Academic Integrity (2nd ed.) The first edition of the Handbook was edited by Tracey Bretag who passed away in 2020.

The second edition is well underway and I’ve been working with an amazing team of Section Editors (giving a wave of gratitude to the team: Brenda M. Stoesz, Silvia Rossi, Joseph F. Brown, Guy Curtis, Irene Glendinning, Ceceilia Parnther, Loreta Tauginienė, Zeenath Reza Khan, and Wendy Sutherland-Smith). We have more than 100 chapters in the second edition, including some from the first edition as well as lots of new chapters. (Giving a wave of gratitude to all the contributors! Thank you for your amazing contributions!) It is a massive project and it has been a major focus of my sabbatical.

Suffice to say, I have not had a spare moment to put fingers to keyboard to write in depth about this topic on social media, but I wanted to share a few high level ideas here. I will have to unpack them in a future blog post or maybe an editorial, but for now, let me just say that I think the moral panic over the use of artificial intelligence is not the answer. But so you know where I stand on the issue, here are some thoughts:

I am happy to chat more, but let me just say that if you are afraid of an explosion of cheating in your classes because of ChatGPT or any other new technological advance, you are not alone, but honestly, technology isn’t the problem.

Stay tuned for more…

Related posts:

Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity: The Ethics of Teaching and Learning with Algorithmic Writing Technologies 

University of Calgary Graduate Assistant (Research) (GAR) – Job posting “Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity: The Ethics of Teaching and Learning with Algorithmic Writing” https://drsaraheaton.wordpress.com/2022/11/30/university-of-calgary-research-assistant-job-posting-artificial-intelligence-and-academic-integrity-the-ethics-of-teaching-and-learning-with-algorithmic-writing/

_________________________________

Share or Tweet this: Sarah’s Thoughts: Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity https://drsaraheaton.wordpress.com/2022/12/09/sarahs-thoughts-artificial-intelligence-and-academic-integrity/

This blog has had over 3 million views thanks to readers like you. If you enjoyed this post, please “like” it or share it on social media. Thanks! Sarah Elaine Eaton, PhD, is a faculty member in the Werklund School of Education, and the Educational Leader in Residence, Academic Integrity, University of Calgary, Canada. Opinions are my own and do not represent those of the University of Calgary.

Comments are closed.