Canadian English: Not Just a Hybrid of American and British English

NALD logoA number of years ago I had the pleasure of participating in a professional development workshop in Cuba for English teachers there. Due to the large numbers of Canadian tourists in Cuba, the teachers were intensely interested in “Canadian” English. They asked, “What is Canadian English?”, “How does it differ from British English? Or American English?” and “Is there really such a thing as ‘Canadian’ words?”

I wrote a paper on the topic of Canadian English for the workshop and I must say, I was surprised at how much I learned about my own language!

The National Adult Literacy Database (NALD) has archived the paper and has made it available for all researchers, teachers and literacy practitioners free of charge. Download your free copy of “Canadian English: Not Just a Hybrid of British and American English”.

________________

Like this post? Share or Tweet it: Canadian English: Not Just a Hybrid of American and British English http://wp.me/pNAh3-15H

If you are interested in booking me (Sarah Eaton) for a presentation, keynote or workshop (either live or via webinar) contact me at sarahelaineeaton (at) gmail.com. Please visit my speaking page, too.

2 Responses to Canadian English: Not Just a Hybrid of American and British English

  1. […] Canadian English: Not Just a Hybrid of American and British English (drsaraheaton.wordpress.com) […]

