Google Translate with Conversation Mode

I am not a fan of online translation.

Or rather, I was not a fan of online translation.

For years I’ve been vehemently vocal about the pitfalls of leaving language translation up to a mechanical device.

I’ve just seen something that is making me reconsider. This is quite possibly the coolest thing I’ve seen in a while. Computer-based translation has come a long way in the past 15 years or so.

Check it out and let me know what you think.

___________

Share this post: Google Translate with Conversation Mode http://wp.me/pNAh3-Xv

If you are interested in booking me (Sarah Eaton) for a presentation, keynote or workshop (either live or via webinar) contact me at sarahelaineeaton (at) gmail.com. Please visit my speaking page, too.

4 Responses to Google Translate with Conversation Mode

  1. Alia says:

    This is a great app, Sarah. I found a similar android app recently. It’s called Talk To Me Cloud. It’s worth a look.

  2. Pat Warkentin says:

    Wow!! Love it… where was this when I was in Greece a couple of years ago??? My brain is churning with ideas to use in my EAL class

    • I love that you think about using apps in your EAL class! So many people have no idea how to effectively incorporate tech into the classroom, but you’ve hit the nail on the head… Get in there and give it a try! This is one of those things that has a high enough “cool factor” that students are very likely to use it on their own, show it to their friends and family and so on. Let us know how it goes when you introduce it to your class!

