Professional portfolios: Resources and tips

Regular readers of this blog know that I’m a big fan of using portfolios for learning. From a learning portfolio, an individual can progress to creating a professional portfolio to help them secure employment. Professional portfolios are not just for artists or photographers. They’re for anyone looking for employment.

They demonstrate your competencies to prospective employers. They may include samples of previous work or pieces of a project you’ve worked on.

They also help you to develop self-confidence and a sense of self-determination as a professional. I’ve had one for about a decade and I have, over the years, used it to help me build a proposal for a project or give me  a mental boost before a job interview.

CreatingYourProfessionalPortfolioIf you work in adult literacy, it can be valuable to work with your learners to help them develop a professional portfolio to get a better job. If you work with high school or university students, helping them build their first professional portfolio gives them a base to start from that they can add to throughout their working life.

Here are some of my favorite resources for building a professional portfolio:

Creating Your Professional Portfolio by Dr. James E. DeLisio (.pdf download)

Pam Petty’s page on Professional Portfolios

Portfolio Tips for Teachers

McGill University’s page on professional portfolios for aspiring teachers and check out their portfolio guidelines checklist, too.

___________________

Share this post:

If you are interested in booking me (Sarah Eaton) for a presentation, keynote or workshop (either live or via webinar) contact me at sarahelaineeaton (at) gmail.com. Please visit my speaking page, too.

Comments are closed.

