Teaching reading the 21st century way

In an article by the Smithsonian, author Kevin Kelly talks about reading in the digital age. He makes a good point when he says that the digital screen is the biggest thing to hit reading since Guttenberg’s invention of the printing press in 1440. He talks about how screen reading involves more than using your eyes. It includes engaging our bodies through interaction with a mouse or touch screen. He adds that portable screens (like the iPod touch, the iPad and any number of other mobile devices are becoming more and more prominent.)

Are you teaching reading in a way that makes sense in the 21st century?

Related post: How technology has changed reading in the 21st century http://wp.me/pNAh3-11P

____________

Share this post: Teaching reading the 21st century way http://wp.me/pNAh3-cb

If you are interested in booking me (Sarah Eaton) for a presentation, keynote or workshop (either live or via webinar) contact me at sarahelaineeaton (at) gmail.com. Please visit my speaking page, too.

One Response to Teaching reading the 21st century way

  1. Ignacio says:

    I needed to thank you for this wonderful read!!

    I definitely loved every bit of it. I have got you book marked to check out new things you post…

