How to make a Facebook fan page

About a month ago I did a post entitled Language Schools and Facebook: Just do it. In it I recommended that language schools create a Facebook page. Since then, I’ve had people writing to me, saying that I should have done a post about how to make a FB page. Ask and ye shall receive.

You’ll need to have Facebook account to start. Once you have that, you can create a page for your organization.

Here are 5 easy steps to creating a Facebook page for your own school, business or organization:

Create a page for my businessGo to another public Facebook “fan page”.  If you don’t have a favorite page, I invite you to stop by my page: http://www.facebook.com/EatonInternationalConsulting

Click on: “Create a page for my business”. You’ll find this on the far left bottom of a Facebook page. I’ve included a screen grab from my own page and circled it in red so you’ll know what to look for.

Create your page. Remember to include an appropriate graphic such as your logo.

Add some content. If you go to my page you’ll see that I have this blog linked to my Facebook page. My Facebook page is automatically updated every time I post something new on my blog. You may not be ready for automated content yet, but be sure to add a few links, an introductory note or other info about your organization.

Invite people to become fans or “like” your page. Use your list of Facebook friends as a start and let others “like” your page, too. It used to be that people had to “become a fan”. The new term is simply to “like” a page.

Here’s a bonus for you: Once you get 25 people who like your page (a.k.a. “fans”) you can request a vanity URL. This takes your long, complicated web address and turns it into something easy to remember, like mine. Once you have your 25 fans, just enter the key words “vanity URL” into the Facebook help pages, and you’ll be pointed to easy-to-follow directions on getting a nice, easy URL for your page.

_________________

Like this post? Tweet or send this URL on to others: How to Make a Facebook Fan Page http://wp.me/pNAh3-3V

If you are interested in booking me (Sarah Eaton) for a presentation, keynote or workshop (either live or via webinar) contact me at sarahelaineeaton (at) gmail.com. Please visit my speaking page, too.

Other people who have mentioned or forwarded this post:

http://topsy.com/trackback?utm_source=pingback&utm_campaign=L1&url=https://drsaraheaton.wordpress.com/2010/05/04/how-to-make-a-facebook-fan-page/

2 Responses to How to make a Facebook fan page

  1. This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sarah Elaine Eaton. Sarah Elaine Eaton said: How to make a Facebook fan page: http://wp.me/pNAh3-3V

  2. Thanks Sarah! We’ve had our own FB fan page for about 6 months now, and just haven’t done anything with it. I’m am now on a mission to get our own “vanity url”. Great post:) TY

