Girl uses school locker to start clandestine library of banned books

This young girl is my hero. Care 2 Make a Difference recently published an article about a school girl who is running an informal library out of her school locker. The “library” of 62 books, all of which are banned by her Catholic school. The books she lends out to her classmates are titles such as The Catcher in the Rye, Canterbury Tales, Paradise Lost and Animal Farm.

I was personally aghast at the list. I’ve read all those books. In fact, I had to read them either in high school or in university. In Halifax, Nova Scotia, the city where I grew up, the Catholic and public schools were integrated. So even though I went to St. Patrick’s High School and Saint Mary’s University, they were both considered public universities, though there was still the odd nun or Jesuit teaching here and there.

Now, apparently, things have changed and these titles are now banned in some school districts. So one student, who goes by the avatar name of Rekochan, brought a copy of the Catcher in the Rye to school, just to see what would happen. She got in a bit of trouble for it and that stirred some interest. A classmate asked to borrow the book, so she lent it to him. She started bringing more and more books to school and lending them out.

The result is that you have school kids who are suddenly motivated to read things like The Canterbury Tales. I mean, seriously? I’d hazard a guess and say that anyone who’s even attempted to read Chaucer’s classic work will agree that it’s not exactly light reading. Even if the English is modernized, it’s not an easy read. And these kids are hungry to read it.

I say, “Yahoo!” Let’s start a reading revolution! To the school boards and religious fundamentalists who want books banned because they contradict the Bible, I say, “Go ahead and ban them!” Today’s kids are smart — smarter than we give them credit for, in many cases. Yet, they’re just as rebellious as we were… Oh, and that sense of “entitlement” that Gen Y’ers and Millennials have that drives their parents crazy? Yes, that sense of entitlement is driving them to say, “You think you can tell me what to read? To heck with you! I’ll read what I darn well please!”

And they quietly sneak away to read a forbidden copy of Paradise Lost on their iPad as they snuggle under the covers.

Could it be that reading will be this generation’s revolution?

God, I hope so.

Related post: Books Banned in Canada (a partial list)

______________

Share this post: Girl uses school locker to start clandestine library of banned books http://wp.me/pNAh3-Sr

If you are interested in booking me (Sarah Eaton) for a presentation, keynote or workshop (either live or via webinar) contact me at sarahelaineeaton (at) gmail.com. Please visit my speaking page, too.

5 Responses to Girl uses school locker to start clandestine library of banned books

  1. Everett says:

    What about talking about books that the nation of Canada actually officially bans (and incinerates or recycles when found)? Who cares what some organization or a library somewhere didn’t like. All of the listed titles are mainstream literature and required reading for most youth.

  2. The mind boggles. CATCHER IN THE RYE? CANTERBURY TALES?? ANIMAL FARM???

    Those were all REQUIRED READING when I was in school…the only one that wasn’t was PARADISE LOST.

    • I know. Most of them were required reading for me, too. I believe that the point of reading them was to help us develop deeper critical thinking skills. The fact that they’ve not only been eliminated from the reading lists, but banned, says a lot about the thinking skills we hope young people will develop. My neighbour told me recently that the Twilight series was approved by her school… to encourage the kids to read. So, political think pieces are out, but vampires are in. Sad, really…

  3. Jarnail singh says:

    Dear thanks for this great link

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,107 other followers

