Literacy and Language Listservs – My favorites

Do you subscribe and participate in professional listservs? Though some say listservs are outdated, I still find tremendous value in the tips, information and ideas that are exchanged. Here are the publicly available lists I subscribe to:

#1. Literacy Information and Communication System (LINCS) –  They have lists on:

  • Adult English Language Acquisition
  • Adult Literacy Professional Development
  • Assessment
  • Diversity and Literacy
  • Health and Literacy
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Math and Numeracy
  • Reading and Writing
  • Transitions to Post-secondary Education
  • Technology and Distance Learning
  • Workforce Competitiveness

Subscribe to any or all of these lists here: http://lincs.ed.gov/lincs/discussions/subscribe_all.html

#2. Foreign Language Teaching Forum (FL Teach) – I’ve been on this list for years, possibly over a decade. Definitely worth it for teachers of second, foreign or world languages.
http://www.cortland.edu/flteach/

#3. Edling list – This is more of a research list for people interested in linguistics and language teaching methodology and other research related questions. I met the listserv administrator, Dr. Francis Hult, at a conference last year and he invited me to subscribe. I enjoy it and keep up on the messages. If you’re in a scholarly or research field, check it out: https://lists.sis.utsa.edu/mailman/listinfo/edling

Tip: I always choose the “digest” option to receive messages, so my inbox doesn’t fill up.

All of these lists are free, public professional exchanges of information. They are all moderated, so there is no spam, profanity or sales pitches. (Bless the list administrators!)

If you know of other content-rich lists, feel free to offer your contribution to the list by leaving a comment.

___________

Share this post: Literacy and Language Listservs – My favorites http://wp.me/pNAh3-Ra

If you are interested in booking me (Sarah Eaton) for a presentation, keynote or workshop (either live or via webinar) contact me at sarahelaineeaton (at) gmail.com. Please visit my speaking page, too.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,112 other followers

