How Not to Market Yourself with Social Media

“Hi, nice to meet you. I’m Bob,” he said, flashing his winning smile. He shook my hand firmly and authoritatively. He exuded the confidence and charm of leadership.

“I know,” I replied. (Was this a faux pas?) “We follow each other on Faceboook and Twitter. I’ve enjoyed the exchanges we’ve had.”

I was being sincere. We have exchanged numerous “@ each other” exchanges on Twitter and have posted a number of times on one another’s Facebook pages.

He grinned and said, “Oh that stuff. I don’t know much about that social media crap. I outsource that to someone in the Philippines. I just send him money every month and he does all that for me. He’s great, isn’t he?”

Yup. Sure fooled me.

I smiled back.

Now I can see outsourcing a business profile, but at least if you outsource your personal social media to someone, don’t let on that you’re not really who you say you are on line. Don’t brag that you’re not the one out there putting in the time to make connections and have interactions with real humans who might one day shake your hand. It could cost you a real, live reputation for honesty – not to mention referrals.

Outsourcing your personal social media interactions may work for presidents of countries or rock stars, but if you’re a regular business person with only a modicum of fame and fortune, be real.

_________________

Share this post: How Not to Market Yourself with Social Media http://wp.me/pNAh3-pV

If you are interested in booking me for a presentation, keynote or workshop (either live or via webinar) contact me at sarahelaineeaton (at) gmail.com. Please visit my speaking page, too.

2 Responses to How Not to Market Yourself with Social Media

  1. Guus says:

    Yes. I would say: Even if you’re a president of a country, while many will understand it’s not really you, don’t let it on either and keep in top of at least the general direction.
    The way this guy treats social media totally defeats the point of being there in the first place. It seems he doesn’t believe in social media, which is why it will always remain ‘crap’ to him.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by BELTfree. BELTfree said: via @drsaraheaton How Not to Market Yourself with Social Media http://ow.ly/1azuOg […]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,175 other followers

